Breaking Traditions

jessie2I can see why there are phases of life, and why most people do decide to live by them. They are comfortable. Really. It makes sense why so many people accept them.

I’m an exception, as usual.

However, I can honestly say that I’m not a trend-setter. I don’t do things differently because I want to be different. I’ve wanted to fit in my whole life. But I’ve also come to the conclusion that that isn’t going to happen. So I may as well make the most of it!

Twenty-five is closer to my age now than twenty. I’m technically a junior in college. And I’m pretty different from most of my classmates.

I’m married. Long distance. And it’s been…two years. Yeah, that’s hard. I know.

Plans are in the works to push me into the smaller percentile of women who work from home, as well as an even smaller percentile that gets paid to write from home.

I’ve married into the military. And to top it all off, I’m left handed, so I’ve let’s just say I’ve been fighting white boards and scissors my whole life.

I’ll tell you one thing though…through this incredible life I’ve lived so far, I’ve been on the outside of expectations. This means I’ve had a lot of freedom to try new things. I’ve traveled extensively and was always encouraged by my parents to try something even if it leads to failure.

Because of that, I want to spread encouragement. I want to tell you that adventure is out there, and there is nothing stopping you from breaking traditions, just like me. So here is the first post. An open invitation. Come check out what’s percolating in my head, and see if I’ve got anything interesting say.

Leave a Reply

